He worried the most deeply…

Istanbul, 8:51, Tag 368

Gestern vor einem Jahr ist doch Steve Jobs gestorben. Heute morgen vor einem Jahr habe ich davon erfahren und war richtig geschockt. Viel ist über ihn geschrieben worden im vergangenen Jahr. Vieles davon habe ich gar nicht gelesen.

Aber Henry postete vor ein paar Tagen eine grossartige Rede von Steve aus dem Jahr 1983. Mich beamt seine klare Sprache, seine klaren Gedanken zu Dingen, die kaum jemand seiner Zeit so sah, so klar erkannte, immer wieder völlig weg.

In den ersten Minuten erzählt er, dass Computer ja erst 1947 erfunden wurde, da wurde mein Vater geboren, dass es den ersten Abschluss in Computer Wissenschaften erst 1968 an der University of California/Berkeley gab, drei Jahre bevor ich auf der Welt war. Ich betrachte mich noch zur ersten Generation Computer zugehörig, obwohl ich erst mit 16 Jahren überhaupt Zugriff auf einen solchen erhielt.

The reason Apple exists is because, we stumbled on fractional horsepower computing five years before anybody else. Thats the reason we exist.

Woooaahh! Diese, seine Analogien, wie die mit der Erfindung kleiner Elektromotoren, sind so prägnant und erklären so einfach, wie so verschiedene Dinge in ihrer Entwicklung miteinander verbunden sind, welche Gemeinsamkeiten sie haben und welche Schlussfolgerungen sich daraus ergeben. Und sie erklären ein klein wenig seine unglaublichen Erfolge, die er mit Apple, NeXT und dann wieder mit Apple erzielen konnte.

Gestern habe ich zu seinem Todestag eine sehr berührende Rede seines Chef Designers hier gefunden:

Jemand hat sich die Mühe gemacht, einen Transcript zu erstellen, den ich hier komplett wiedergeben möchte:

Steve used to say to me (and he used to say this a lot), “Hey Jony, here’s a dopey idea.” And sometimes they were — really dopey. Sometimes they were truly dreadful. But sometimes they took the air from the room, and they left us both completely silent. Bold, crazy, magnificent ideas. Or quiet, simple ones which, in their subtlety, their detail, they were utterly profound.

And just as Steve loved ideas, and loved making stuff, he treated the process of creativity with a rare and a wonderful reverence. I think he, better than anyone, understood that while ideas ultimately can be so powerful, they begin as fragile, barely formed thoughts, so easily missed, so easily compromised, so easily just squished.

I loved the way that he listened so intently. I loved his perception, his remarkable sensitivity, and his surgically precise opinion. I really believe there was a beauty in how singular, how keen his insight was, even though sometimes it could sting.

As I’m sure many of you know, Steve didn’t confine his sense of excellence to making products. When we travelled together, we would check in and I’d go up to my room. And I’d leave my bags very neatly by the door. And I wouldn’t unpack. And I would go and sit on the bed. I would go and sit on the bed next to the phone. And I would wait for the inevitable phone call: “Hey Jony, this hotel sucks. Let’s go.”

He used to joke that the lunatics had taken over the asylum, as we shared a giddy excitement spending months and months working on a part of a product that nobody would ever see. Not with their eyes. We did it because we really believed it was right because we cared. He believed that there was a gravity, almost a sense of civic responsibility, to care way beyond any sort of functional imperative.

While the work hopefully appeared inevitable, appeared simple and easy, it really cost. It cost us all, didn’t it? But you know what? It cost him most. He cared the most. He worried the most deeply.

He constantly questioned, “Is this good enough? Is this right?” And despite all his successes, all his achievements, he never assumed that we would get there in the end. When the ideas didn’t come, and when the prototypes failed, it was with with great intent, with faith, that he decided to believe we would eventually make something great.

But the joy of getting there! I loved his enthusiasm, his simple delight (often, I think, mixed with some relief) that, yeah, we got there. We got there in the end and it was good. You can see his smile, can’t you? The celebration of making something great for everybody, enjoying the defeat of cynicism, the rejection of reason, the rejection of being told a hundred times, “You can’t do that”. So his, I think, was a victory for beauty, for purity, and, as he would say, for giving a damn.

He was my closest and my most loyal friend. We worked together for nearly fifteen years. (And he still laughed at the way I say “aluminium”.)

For the past two weeks, we’ve all been struggling to find ways to say goodbye. This morning I simply want to end by saying, “Thank you, Steve.” Thank you for your remarkable vision, which has united and inspired this extraordinary group of people. For all that we have learned from you, and for all that we will continue to learn from each other: Thank you, Steve.

Und ein drittes Fundstück, von heute morgen soll diese kleine Erinnerung an Steve Jobs beschliessen. Entwickler Pritesh Desai hat einen Simulator des ersten iPods geschrieben, welcher in 2001 als 5GB Modell für 1.000 Songs in Deiner Tasche mit einer echten, sich noch drehenden Minifestplatte darin erschien. Ich hab meinen ersten iPod noch irgendwo in einer Kiste zu Hause aufgehoben. Es ist noch keine 11 Jahre her!

Auch ich danke Dir, Steve!

Heute Nacht habe ich schön geträumt und alles vergessen. Der Morgen begann unruhig, wie der gestrige Tag unruhig endete. Ich werde wohl immer dann unruhig, wenn ich meinen eigenen Gedanken zuviel Glauben schenke, wenn ich zu sehr glaube, eine Erklärung für den Ausdruck des Seins gefunden zu haben. Das Leben beweist mir meist sofort, dass ich unrecht habe.

Wünsch Euch einen tollen Start in ein wunderbares Wochenende!

One thought on “He worried the most deeply…

Kommentar verfassen

