Zum Inhalt springen

Don’t be afraid, be open!

Mal kurz Berlin, 7:45, Tag 532

Heute Nacht, also in den paar Stunden zwischen 1 und 5, habe ich geträumt war aber zu müde, um mich zu erinnern. Gestern habe ich verstanden, das ich hier nicht blogge, sondern mein Tagebuch ins Netz schreibe.

Dazu brauchte es den Launch von opd, eine Erkältung und eine sechsstündige Zugfahrt ohne Internet. Ich habe ein kleines Statement geschrieben, da ich eine Einladung zu einer Konferenz des EPO „Creating Markets from Research Results“ in München erhalten habe, die parallel zur re:publica stattfindet. Die Konferenz ist mir schon jetzt unangenehm und somit eine schöne Herausforderung. Auf der re:publica hätte ich die Chance Cory Doctorow live zu erleben. Auf der Konferenz würde ich über Tools und die Motivation für Forscher reden dürfen, ihre Erfindungen und Forschungsergebnisse besser für die gewerbliche Nutzung  zu teilen. Davon habe ich überhaupt keine Ahnung, aber vielleicht bin ich genau deshalb eingeladen worden. Wer weiss?

Zwischendurch habe ich mich tief in James Blog vertieft und mir eine Liste mit Vorsätzen aus diesem Post von ihm destilliert. Herrlich, aber auch beschämend. Na egal, jedenfalls versuche ich schon jetzt seine Tips zu beherzigen, versage aber fast komplett! Zumindest weiss ich jetzt, was ich alles nicht mache. Ein erster Schritt zur Besserung. Übrigens, um im Zug in Deutschland im Internet lesen zu könne, muss man unglaublich schnell sein. Während der kurzen Aufenthalte in den Bahnhöfen, mache ich ganz schnell alle Seiten auf, die ich lesen will. So sieht das dann aus, nach 5 min Sackbahnhof Frankfurt, damit komme ich dann bis zum nächsten Stop. Zwischendrin herrscht einfach nur technologisch Dunkelheit!

Screen Shot 2013-03-21 at 8.18.51 AM

Eh ich in unser diesjähriges Zazen Retreat aufbreche, gibt es aber noch mein Opening Statement zur unangenehmen Konferenz:

Opening statement: Don’t be afraid, be open!

Q: What is the basic deal of the IP system?
A: Disclose your invention to the public, therefore get a time limited monopol in the commercial use.

Q: What are incentives for humans to disclose their ideas?
A1: Intrinsic motivation are: passion, meaning, create, freedom, security. Basically finding the answer to: who are we? Extrinsic motivation: acknowledgement, fame, learning and money. Basically finding the answer to: why are we here?

A2: Ideas and inventions are worthless! Only executing on ideas and invention is creating value. Protecting ideas and inventions from being shared, prohibits execution on them. This has to stop! The IP System is about sharing inventions with the public and therefore one prerequisite on executing them.

Q: What happens if you amplify fear in a university or corporate environment?
A: You will destroy passion! One side of all organisations is, that they amplifies the fear of loosing, falling appart, low performance, no sucess. Or more in IP Terms: fear of infringement, the fear of prior art, of non validity, of stolen ideas, of the big guys killing you, and so on. This fear kills passion.

Q: What are appropriate incentives to encourage researchers to disclose their invention?
A: Simply: build trust, not fear. The problem is that individual passion is hard to scale—hard to fit into the industrial model. It’s not reliably ignited.

Q: How to exploit the instinct to hide?
A: Human beings have, like all animals, a great ability to hide from the things they fear.

At the heart of the industrial system is power—the power of bosses over workers, the power of buyers over suppliers, and the power of marketers over consumers. Fear is used to ensure that no one stretches too far, questions the status quo, or makes a ruckus. Fear is reinforced in career planning, in academics, and even in interpersonal interactions. Fear lives in the counselling offices/TTOs, too.

We need the end of the message: better fit in or you won’t get into a good university or you won’t get a good degree.
We need to build more trust, and less fear to foster innovation, diffuse knowledge into society, enhancing the value and relevance of our education system.

Q: How to reinvent Universities to encourage the diffusion of knowledge back into the society?
A: Create an open book policy, an open note policy, all the time. Let everybody access any course, anywhere in the world. Precise, focused behaviour instructions instead of mass, generalized instructions. Amplify the outlying of students, teachers, and ideas. Always support cooperation instead of isolation. Learning starts with your degree: lifelong learning, so work earlier. End compliance as an outcome.

Q: What Uni’s do, after the whole world got connected?

A: The Internet is making the role of content gatekeeper unimportant. Redundant. Even wasteful. Universities could connect people to each another, connect seekers to data, connect like minded individuals into larger, more effective organisations, connect machines to each other and creating value and they connect businesses to each other.

All this are incentives, that increase the willingness of researchers to share and disclose inventions and research results for further commercial exploitation. The right tools are already here to use, if you exactly know and be able to describe, what you want to achieve.

(Inspired by the great Seth Godin)

2013-03-21 07.31.31-1

Bisher keine Kommentare

Kommentar verfassen

